Traffic Education Program


About the Traffic Education Program

The Traffic Education Program (TEP) was established in South Carolina in an effort to make our highways safer through driver’s education while giving the participant an opportunity to have their ticket(s) dismissed.

Who is eligible for the TEP?

  • No significant history of traffic violations
  • Ticket must be a point violation
  • Violation must be 4 points or less

How does the participant enter the TEP?

  • A participant may be referred to the TEP by the Summary Court Judge or Municipal Court Judge.
  • Prior to the scheduled court date, Summary Court and Municipal Court cases may be eligible to enter the TEP as a self referral
Out of State Application    Local Application

If you are interested in applying to the Traffic Education Program, please contact the office directly at (843) 915-5693 prior to submitting an application.

What is needed to apply?

  • Two (2) money orders made payable to the TEP in the amount of $140.00 each (total of $280.00)
  • Driver’s license
  • Social Security Card
  • Ten (10) year driving record

What is required while in the program?

  • Complete community service for a non-profit organization
  • Attend a four (4) hour defensive driving course
  • How long is the program?

    Participants may be eligible to successfully complete within thirty (30) days from the time of application.

    Completion

    Successful Completion
    • Upon completion all applicable agencies are notified to dismiss the charge(s) (Magistrate Court, Municipal Court, Police Department)
    • Participants have the right to request expungement of the dismissed ticket at an additional cost of $250.00. Expungement is not a requirement.
    Unsuccessful Completion
    Should a participant unsuccessfully complete the program, the TEP file is closed and the court is notified.

    Participation

    Out of County Participants and Out of State Participants
    An application is mailed to be completed and returned to the TEP office. The participant must attend a four (4) hour defensive driving class and complete four (4) hours of community service in their area for a non-profit agency by the deadline given.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Will my charge(s) be dismissed?
    Yes. All tickets referred to TEP will be dismissed upon successful completion which further means no fines will be paid to the court and no points will go against your driving record for this offense.
    Am I expected to appear in court?
    In most cases, you are not required to appear in court once referred to the TEP. However, if you have any questions or concerns about a court date, contact the court or the TEP office directly to discuss your specific situation.
    Do I need an attorney to apply to the Traffic Education Program?
    No. You have the right to seek advice from an attorney. However, legal assistance is not a requirement to be eligible to enter TEP.
    Am I eligible for the program if I do not live in Horry County or in South Carolina?
    Yes. Participation can be completed in another county or in another state. All correspondence will be made by phone, by mail, by fax and by e-mail.
    Why am I paying a fee to participate in the program?
    All fees are required based on state statute. TEP is self-supporting, receiving no funding from federal, state, or local government.
    What form of payment is accepted?
    All payment to this office must be in the form of a money order or cashier’s check. Cash, personal checks and credit cards are not accepted.
    Why would I be rejected from participation in TEP?
    Applications will be rejected based on prior participation in the TEP, current driving record, or for a suspended driver’s license. The Solicitor may reject an application at any time.
    What is the difference between dismissal and expungement?
    Dismissed means that the case is dropped and has been ended by the court. A ticket is changed from pending to dismissed with the magistrate or municipal court and police department. An expungement is a destruction of the record. Expungement is a right, not a requirement.
    What is the process for expungment?
    Upon successful completion, you will be provided with an application for expungement by the TEP office. The application must be sent to the Horry County Solicitor’s Office along with the fee of $250.00. Expect four to six weeks for the expungement process to be completed at which time the expungement order will be sent to the arresting agency and the summary or municipal court judge.

    Traffic Education Progarm Contact Info

    Contact Info
    Phone: (843) 915-5365
    Fax: (843) 915-6330
    Address
    1005 Second Avenue
    Conway, SC 29526

    Profile