Community DevelopmentCommunity Development

The Community Development staff administers the Community Development Block Grants as well as other grants including the Department of Energy Block Grants and the Justice Assistance Grants.


Horry County's Community Development Office is the hub for grants applied for by Horry County Government. The Community Development staff administers the Community Development Block Grants as well as other grants including the Justice Assistance Grants. The office assists other County departments with finding, applying for and ensuring compliance with federal and other grants.

CDBG Program

The CDBG entitlement program provides annual grants through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) on a formula basis to entitled urban counties in order to develop viable urban communities through projects and programs that promote decent housing and a suitable living environment, and by expanding economic opportunities, principally for low- and moderate-income persons. Through a joint venture with the City of Myrtle Beach and the City of Conway, Horry County became an entitlement community in the 2008 program year. Horry County established its CDBG office and began funding projects and programs to meet the local needs as identified in the Consolidated Plan of 2008, a document required by HUD identifying local community needs and establishing 3-5 year goals for HUD funding in the areas of community development and affordable housing.

One of the important parts of the Consolidated Plan is the Annual Action Plan, which is prepared each budget year. It outlines in detail the activities to be completed and the funding sources for them. The activities are planned to help achieve HUD's CDBG national objectives as well as Horry County's long-term goals as identified in the Consolidated Plan and approved by County Council. Each year, citizen input and participation in helping to identify the types of future CDBG projects to be funded is requested.


The Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) program is authorized by subtitle B of title IV of the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. 11371–11378) as amended by the HEARTH Act.  The program authorizes the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to make grants to States, units of general purpose local government, and territories for the rehabilitation or conversion of buildings for use as emergency shelter for the homeless, , for essential services related to emergency shelters and street outreach for the homeless, and for homelessness prevention and rapid re-housing assistance. 


The ESG or Emergency Solutions Grant Program replaced the previous Emergency Shelter Grant program and incorporates elements of the Homelessness Prevention and Rapid Re-housing Program (HPRP). While still providing support for emergency shelters and services to the homeless, the new Emergency Solutions Grant Program focuses more funding on preventing initial and recurrent homelessness, shortening the duration of homelessness, assisting in the transition from homelessness to independent living, and providing outreach, needs assessment, and other services for unsheltered homeless.  

The ESG program provides funding to:
Rapidly re-house homeless individuals and families;
Prevent families and individuals from becoming homeless;
Engage homeless individuals and families living on the street;
Improve the number and quality of emergency shelters for homeless individuals and families;
Provide essential services to shelter residents;
Maintain required HMIS beneficiary data


The HOME Program: HOME Investment Partnerships

The HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME) (24 CFR Parts 91 and 92) provides formula grants to states and local governments which are used, typically in partnership with local nonprofit groups and community housing development organizations (CHDOs), to finance a variety of housing activities. These activities include homeowner-occupied housing rehabilitation, homeowner new construction, rental acquisition and rehabilitation, rental new construction, and tenant-based rental assistance.


The Horry County HOME Consortium (HCHC), a public body politic and corporate, with corporate succession, was created in 2017 to assist the low-income and underserved areas of Georgetown, Horry, and Williamsburg Counties of South Carolina in the financing, development, and preservation of affordable housing.  The HCHC receives and administers funds provided by the HOME Investment Partnerships Act (HOME Program).


Member jurisdictions of HCHC include Georgetown, Horry, and Williamsburg Counties, as well as the municipalities of Myrtle Beach, Conway, Atlantic Beach, Aynor, Loris, Georgetown, Andrews, Kingstree, Hemingway, Stuckey, Lane, and Greeleyville.  Horry County is the designated lead agency for the Consortium.  Horry County administers the HOME Program on behalf of the Consortium, and coordinates the planning and administration of HOME Investment Partnership Funds.


The goals for the HCHC focus on decent housing, which includes:

  • Retaining the current affordable housing stock;
  • Increasing the availability of affordable permanent housing for low and moderate-income families;
  • Increasing the supply of supportive housing which includes structural features and services to enable persons with special needs to live in dignity and independence; and
  • Creating new affordable housing units.

The Community Development office will begin funding projects and programs to meet the local needs as identified in the Consolidated Plan of 2018-2022, a document required by HUD identifying local community needs.



Department Well

Department Head
Courtney Kain
Phone: (843) 915-7033
Fax: (843) 915-6184
Mailing Address
1515 4th Avenue
Conway, SC 29526
Physical Address
1515 4th Avenue
Conway, SC 29526
Office Hours
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday through Friday