News and Announcements

Public news and announcements are brought to you by the Horry County Public Information Office.

Horry County News and Announcements


Notice of Special Election

Conway, South Carolina – Below is the Special Election schedule for Horry County Council District 6.

4/17/2015      12:00 p.m. (noon) – filing opens  (Elections Office)

4/27/2015      12:00 p.m. (noon) – filing closes

6/16/2015      Special Primary Election

6/18/2015      10:00 a.m. certification (Elections Office)

6/30/2015      Runoff Election

7/2/2015        10:00 a.m. certification  (Elections Office)

8/4/2015        General Election

8/7/2015        10:00 a.m. certification (Elections Office)

The following precincts are eligible to vote for Horry County Council District 6:

  • Enterprise (split district)
  • Lake Park
  • Sea Winds (split district)
  • Socastee #1 (split district)
  • Socastee #2
  • Socastee #3

For more information, please contact the Horry County Registration & Elections Office at (843) 915-5440.

Swearing-In Ceremony for Council Chairman Scheduled for May 7

Conway, South Carolina – A Swearing-In Ceremony will be held for Horry County Council Chairman Mark Lazarus on Tuesday, May 7, at 4 p.m. in Horry County Council Chambers located in the Horry County Government & Justice Center, 1301 Second Avenue in Conway. The event is open to the public and a reception will follow.

2013 County Council Chair General Election Temporary Precinct Move

Conway, South Carolina –To better facilitate voters, Horry County Registration and Elections has, for this election only, moved two precincts as follows:
  • Jackson Bluff Precinct will be moved to Centenary Methodist Church located at 1527 Highway 544, Conway.
  • Ocean Drive Precinct #2 will be moved to Lakeside Baptist Church located at 615 11th Avenue North, North Myrtle Beach.
Voters are reminded that the election date for the 2013 County Council Chair General Election is Tuesday, April 30, 2013, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Registered voters will be required to show any one of five forms of identification in order to vote: South Carolina driver’s license, South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles identification card, voter’s registration card with picture, Federal military identification with picture or a United States passport.

The last day to vote absentee in the Horry County Registration and Elections Office is Monday, April 29, 2013. The Horry County Registration and Elections Office is located at 1515 4th Avenue in Conway. (Absentee voting requirements are below.) Keep in mind that there is no EARLY voting in South Carolina.

For further information, contact Horry County Registration & Elections at 843-915-5440.