News and Announcements

Public news and announcements are brought to you by the Horry County Public Information Office.

Horry County News and Announcements

Horry County Councilman James R. Frazier Resigns from Office

On January 22, 2016 in County News, General

Conway, South Carolina –Horry County Councilman James R. Frazier (Dist. 7) announced his resignation from office effective March 1, 2016. Mr. Frazier has been a Horry County Councilman for 35 years. 

“I rise today to recognize a man of many achievements and talents, whose contributions to the Bucksport Community and our entire county have enriched many lives and contributed to the economic health of our community,” stated Horry County Council Chairman Mark Lazarus. “There are not enough words to express his love for Horry County and his dedication to service to the people of this county. He is a man of few, but powerful words. When he speaks, the room will go silent and everyone will listen as his wisdom is what has guided our county into the amazing place it is today. It has truly been an honor to serve with Mr. Frazier.”

Mr. Frazier was first elected to the Horry County Council in 1980. His lasting mark can be seen in the Bucksport Community with the construction of the James R. Frazier Community Center, which was completed in 2008. He was instrumental in helping to develop and implement state policy by serving on the South Carolina Association of Counties Board of Directors since 2006 and was appointed president in 2015. 

Mr. Frazier retired after 23 years of service with the South Carolina Department of Agriculture and was one of five spokesmen nationwide that was invited to the White House by President Jimmy Carter to discuss issues facing American farmers. Mr. Frazier has also been a longtime member of the Horry County Democratic Party and was elected as the first African-American chairman in 1986.

Letter from Councilman Frazier

Horry County Council District 7 filings will open on March 18 and close on March 28. Below is the special election schedule:

May 17 – Primary Election
May 31 – Runoff Election, if necessary
July 5 – General Election