News and Announcements

Public news and announcements are brought to you by the Horry County Public Information Office.

Horry County News and Announcements

US Small Business Administration Announces Disaster Declaration for Horry County

On October 12, 2016 in Emergencies

The U.S. Small Business Administration has added more counties to the disaster declaration in North and South Carolina affected by Hurricane Matthew that began on Oct. 4, 2016.

The disaster declaration now covers the counties of Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Edgecombe, Hoke,Johnston, Lenoir, Nash, Pitt, Robeson, Wayne and Wilson in North Carolina, which are eligible for both Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA.  Small businesses and most private nonprofit organizations in the following adjacent counties are eligible to apply only for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans: Brunswick, Chowan, Craven, Duplin, Franklin, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Martin, Moore, Northampton, Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, Sampson, Scotland, Wake, Warren, and Washington in North Carolina; Dillon, Horry and  Marlboro in South Carolina.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via the SBA’s secure website.

To be considered for all forms of disaster assistance, applicants should register online at or by mobile device at  If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free helpline at 800-621-3362. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 800-621-3362.

Additional details on the locations of Disaster Recovery Centers and the loan application process can be obtained by calling the SBA Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an email to